Whimsical speculations


What is it that compels my mind to think of things that are only based on hope and speculation?

This has been my experience so far.

For several weeks now I had hoped and speculated about a possible new job, only to learn today that it was all in vain.  The job was never on offer.  It was due to recent changes that I imagined that there would be an opening for me to gain the position I wanted.  The thing is, there was never an opening for it, it was already presumed filled by another.  The only reason I entertained ideas about it, was based on commentary that I’d received from a colleague.

So in all effect, my mind has been in overdrive, constantly focused on a possibility of an imagining becoming a reality.   The imagining of my working relationships with the people around me.  The imagining of  how much I was going to love being on that job.  Alas, it was not meant to be.

The thing with my mind is that when I have a strong focus on something, it won’t let up.  I start to imagine my thoughts as if they are real, to the point that I believe in my imagination.  This only sets me up for a major let down.  All of my own making.

Thankfully, I don’t do this too often.  It seems to creep up on me from time to time, coupled with lots of wishful thinking.  I should invest my focus and energy on things that I have more control over and not on whimsicality’s.

whimsical

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please leave a comment.

