Is he making a move on me?


A romantic painting by Rob Hefferan
Romantic Painting by Rob Hefferan

He is whispering in my ear again and he is asking me things that I’m having great difficulty giving him answers to.

What a strange situation. We came to London to attend this world conference and suddenly we’re attracted. How does this happen? Oh wait. Stupid question really. All we did was lock eyes for a brief 30 seconds as we were about to sit down at opposite ends of our seating arrangements. 30 seconds. That’s all it takes for two people to get attracted.

I lost my focus at the conference, and I was supposed to take notes and report back to my manager when I fly back to Sydney. I’m going to have to pay more attention tomorrow. Thank goodness this is a 3 day event.

His name is Rodolfo. He flew from Italy to London. At least his flight was shorter than my 21 hours, 37 minutes, and I’m feeling very jet lagged now, and I can’t think straight, and here he is sitting next to me, whispering in my ear, telling me how much he is drawn to me, how he has never felt this strongly towards someone like me ever before! Holy crap. He is pretty full on. I’m not sure I can handle his intensity.

I have to admit the wine is helping me relax. I can feel my cheeks burning, not just from the wine, but also from having him sit so close to me. I can feel the warmth of his body, his lust and desire for me is making my blood boil. I’m not too sure I can resist him for much longer.

Oh no. He is wearing a ring on the pinkie of his right hand. Oh crap. He’s married. Now what? I’ve squeezed my left arm tighter into me, slowly distancing myself from him, hoping he won’t notice. One of my colleagues is sitting by the window behind us; talking to someone she also met today. I wonder how things are going for them.

God he smells nice. Rodolfo; he smells like a summer breeze. I will never forget his scent, and his breath touching my cheek. I’m going to have to get up in a minute. This situation cannot continue. I mean. He lives in Rome and I live in Sydney, Australia, for fuck’s sake, and I certainly don’t want to have a one night stand, a 2 night stand or a 3 night stand for that matter and I don’t want to be left wanting for Rodolfo once I return back home.

OK. I better get up now.

Damn it.

*****

I’ll give it just a few more minutes.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please leave a comment.

