Make it count: An open letter to former Australian Prime-minister Ms Julia Gillard.


Wine, Wanderlust and words

Inspired by the Daily prompt: Make it count

Dear Ms Gillard,

When I first heard that you had been stood down as Australia’s prime minister, I was sitting on a 747 bound for Abu Dhabi, just about to depart Melbourne.

I can remember that instant very clearly, the subsequent feeling that at that moment I was all too glad to be departing the country I love so much… and that I surprised myself by letting out a gasp. Looking back, I don’t think that it was shock that made me gasp, although I was certainly shocked that Rudd was successful in challenging your leadership. Looking back, I believe that I gasped in sadness.

I wasn’t always fond of your policies, aJuliand very often completely disagreed with your position of many issues. I very openly favour the Greens over the Labor party, and honestly gave up following Australian politics some years…

View original post 420 more words

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please leave a comment.

