Ennui


What is it?  It is a feeling of listlessness and dissatisfaction arising from a lack of occupation or excitement, and this sums me up right now.

I have felt this sense of ennui for some time now, and I blame it entirely on the lack of stimulating activity I’ve endured in recent times. I have pondered on how I can fix this. Sure there are a myriad of things that I could do to change this, but nothing is attracting my attention right now. Nothing at all, it seems. Is this possible?

Many people around me seem to have hobbies that keep them stimulated, interested and preoccupied. What are my hobbies? I examine this in detail and discover that just about everything is a hobby; well according to Wikipedia it is. It lists that there are hobbies under various streams sporting titles that cater for indoors and outdoors; collection hobbies, competition hobbies, and observation hobbies. As I sift through this list, I realise that I have many hobbies after all, but none of which stimulate my interest. Well, that’s just a great thing. Isn’t it? I’m feeling bummed now. No, not really. It’s OK.

Where to from here?

How do I overcome this feeling of ennui?

I’ll ride it like a summer breeze until it will pass.

To be alive is to feel the varying feelings that life bestows upon us. I feel these things because I am reminded that I have it good, and life is a blessing.

It is human to feel emotion. Each one is valid.

2 thoughts on “Ennui

  1. Hi Gina,
    Well written. Like the weather circulating this malaise will pass. In the mean time however the slow passing can be both insidious and listless. The bright side is that if you keep your eyes and heart open things will change and you will be all the more ready for them. I hope that doesn’t sound preachy, just I know exactly what you mean. Good luck☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please leave a comment.

